30 MIN

An approach which is tailored to students' needs

Score: 0
20.00 USD /single lesson (60 min.)
Languages / French

Lesson schedule

Tutor score

Lessons given:

Students feedbacks

Tutor information

General information

nick tara93
country United Kingdom
languages English, French, Spanish


Hi, I`m Tara. I graduated from The University of Sheffield, receiving First Class Honours in French and Hispanic Studies, with a Distinction in Spoken Spanish. I have over two years` experience in one-to-one tutoring of students between GCSE and degree level, and understand the importance of adapting materials to the needs of individual learners.

I think it`s really important to produce learning materials that are tailored to tutees` individual needs. I prefer to adopt a hands on approach, and encourage my students to take note of what they`re learning (whether on paper or using other methods). I am conscientious of the importance of constantly engaging with my tutees, and allowing for consistent two-way communication.

I also value the importance of feedback, and after every session ask my tutees whether there are any elements they would like me to change, remove or add in the following session. I consider myself very flexible in my approach, and am also aware that every learner is different. I make every effort to be as accommodating as possible.

I have been learning French for 12 years, and Spanish for over 9 years, and would be delighted to apply my extensive knowledge of both these languages. I am able to explain grammatical and more technical points to students, and can also provide the opportunity for speaking practice outside of the classroom environment, which I understand can be very daunting! In the third year of my degree, I spent 6 months working in a translation agency in Paris, France and 4 months in Nicaragua. I am happy to share my experience of living abroad, as well as respond to any concerns about spending time in French- and Spanish-speaking countries

Whilst at college, I was responsible for tutoring students in GCSE English and Maths. This was a role I pursued during my time at University where I was an English learning mentor responsible for visiting students in schools. I have undoubtedly learnt invaluable skills which I put into practise when I am tutoring students on a one-to-one basis. I am able to explain grammatical points in English, and resolve any issues regarding textual analysis and literary context.


Experience: 2 years

About me

French language and literature tuition.