mollybasterfield
mollybasterfield

Also available to teach GCSE Maths, Maths SAT's and Fine Art

Score: 0
20.00 USD /single lesson (60 min.)
Languages / English / British E...

Lesson schedule

Tutor score

0%
positve
feedbacks
Lessons given:
0
Positives
0
Neutrals
0
Negatives
0

Students feedbacks

Tutor information

General information

nick mollybasterfield
country India
languages English
contact

Education

I have a PGCE in Secondary Mathematics from the University of Brighton. From 2016-2017 I worked for a year as a mathematics teacher in Brighton, UK. I worked in two contrasting schools, Cardinal Newman Catholic School and Patcham High School. The differing environments allowed me to gain a wide range of experience in teaching different levels of students from different backgrounds. I taught children aged 11-17, covering KS3 maths, GCSE maths and also tutoring students 1-to-1 on GCSE maths after school. I taught mixed ability sets of 30 students, bottom sets of 12 students and top sets of around 32 students. I also worked with students inside the Pupil Referral Unit, this was a separate initiative to the school where students would be taken out of their lessons and taught 1-to-1 on a separate timetable due to their social or behavioural needs. I taught both traditional lessons and more practical lessons to those lower set students who tended to learn in a more practical way. I worked at Patcham Junior School for one of the weeks of the year, coaching younger students, aged 8-11, on their Math SAT's, using different materials and manipulatives in order to explain mathematical concepts to them in a more visual way, that is proven to help with the understanding of introductory maths.

Prior to studying for my PGCE I undertook a BA Hons degree in Fine Art Sculpture at the University of Brighton.

I have English classroom teaching experience that I gained during my TEFL course. Since then I have been living in India where I have also been teaching children from local villages how to speak English. I work here part time as a Scuba Diving instructor.

Prior to studying for my PGCE, I worked in nurseries, reading with children and leading creative learning activities. I also used to tutor adults in Fine Art at 'Art Space', a charity organisation set up for adults with mental health difficulties. From all of these different experiences, I have gained the ability to work confidently with students from the ages of 3 right up to the age of 40.

Experience: 4 years

About me

I am a patient and passionate English teacher who enjoys teaching through discussion based tasks.

I have a PGCE in Secondary Education from the University of Brighton and a 157 hour TEFL certification.

I have a huge amount of professional teaching experience from working within schools.

My courses can be suited for speaking practice for functional English right up to TOEFL exam practice.

I also can also tutor on primary and secondary maths, up to A*GCSE Level. 

I can  tailor specific courses to suit any other interests you may have.